Marriage Licenses

A marriage license may be issued in any parish, regardless of where the ceremony is to be performed or where the parties reside, as long as the ceremony is in the State of Louisiana (RS 9:222).  A 24 hour waiting period is required by law between the time the license is obtained and the time the ceremony is performed.  A marriage license is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.

The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $35.00 payable with Cash, Check, Money order or Credit / Debit card (with 4% fee).  This fee includes a certified copy of your marriage license to be mailed back to you after your ceremony.

Applicants must complete all information required on the application form (RS 9:223).  The form must be signed by at least one party in the presence of a deputy clerk.

REQUIREMENTS - (RS 9:225)

  • SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (RS 9:224) of each party or one of the following if not a citizen or lawful permanent resident of the United States:

    • Valid and unexpired passport from the country of birth, or
    • Unexpired visa with Form I-94 as issued by the U.S.

  • BIRTH CERTIFICATE (RS 9:226)

    • If born in Louisiana:

      • Certified copy of each party’s birth certificate (short form acceptable) - Click here for information on obtaining a Louisiana Birth Certificate, or

      • Order waiving birth certificate(s) WITH letter from proper registration authority that a thorough search was made and no birth record was located (RS 9:227 & 228).

    • If born outside of Louisiana but in a U.S. state or territory, (American Samoa, Guam, N Marianas Islands, Puerto Rico & Virgin Islands):

      • Certified copy of each party’s birth certificate (short form not allowed), or

      • Order waiving birth certificate(s) WITH letter from proper registration authority that a thorough search was made and no birth record was located (RS 9:227 & 228).

    • If born outside U.S. or its territories:

      • Certified copy of party’s birth certificate and a valid and unexpired passport, or

      • Certified copy of party’s birth certificate and unexpired visa accompanied by Form I-94 as issued by the U.S.

      • Order waiving birth certificate(s) WITH letter from proper registration authority that a thorough search was made and no birth record was located (RS 9:227 & 228).

    • Certified translation of birth certificate if certificate is in a language other than English:

      • Must include sworn declaration of translator.
         

  • IDENTIFICATION

    • Valid and unexpired driver’s license, or

    • A government issued identification card, or

    • A valid and unexpired passport from the country of his birth, or

    • An unexpired visa accompanied by Form I-94 as issued by the U.S.

    • Written consent or court’s authorization for minor(s) to marry (if applicable)

    • Covenant Marriage Declaration (if applicable)

  • WAIVERS, if Applicable

    • 24-Hour Waiver, no change to process; (R. S. 9:242)

    • Birth Certificate Waiver as described above; (R.S. 9:227 & 228)

    • Waiver of Notarized Application as described above (9:224)

  • JUDGMENT OF DIVORCE (Certified Copy) or Date of Death if applicable.

AGE REQUIREMENTS

Both parties must be of age of majority, which is 18 years old. 

 

  • A marriage license cannot be issued to a minor under the age of 16. 

  • A minor 16 or 17 years of age may not marry a person of the age of majority where there is an age difference of three years or greater between them (RS 9:221)

  • If a minor is 16 or 17 years of age, both the father and mother of the minor, or the person having legal custody of the minor, or the tutor of the minor must be present with identification to sign a consent waiver.  In addition to the parental consent requirement, a judicial authorization signed by a Judge is required before a marriage license can be issued.